Jsack's Mom's Blog

Sharing my heart, tears, and love, one story at a time. ❤️

Dear Mother Nature…

on October 2, 2014

You are a fickle bitch, there I said it. I promised myself I wasn’t going to complain about the weather when I moved, but here I am doing exactly that!!! But seriously let’s talk about your fickleness, first I’m enjoying beautiful balmy +25 temperatures in September. Then I’m in for a shock the next day when it’s -1 with gulp, 15 centimetres of snow!!! ❄ This artic chill and really early snowfall came to be known Canada wide as #snowtember. ⛄️ Online media jumped on this like a fat kid on a smarty. No offence, I’d kill for some smarties right now. My Facebook newsfeed was clogged up with how cold is it questions? Cold enough to freeze snotcickles. (And no, that’s not a word I just made it up) 😉 Twitter lit up like a Christmas tree with all the tweets, and #abstorm started trending. My own friends (lovely ones at that) started texting me pics of them at the beach. And my own sister in-law posted a pic of a beautiful sunny day in my beloved Okanagan. Oh yes there was a lot sorry not sorries, sucks to be you, did you unpack your snow shovel comments. This freakish weather lasted 4 days while I unpacked snow suits and winter boots to endure it. Then the cold front moves on and +20 was the regular temperature for a week. Then I put away winter gear just to look for shorts and sandals again. Do you see how crazy this is?!!! Yesterday was cold, rainy, and so windy I expected to see a funnel cloud over my house. There’s still branches and trees all over the province that probably won’t be all cleared away till November!!! We’ll probably have 3 feet of snow by then. 😏 And this morning I saw blue sky with a touch of sunshine, with excitement I put away my umbrella. I checked the weather forecast and it was -5, WTF Mother Nature is this some cruel joke? Do you know how hard it is to get kids to leave the house at -5 for school?!!! I had to bribe them with hot chocolate just to get them out the door on time. 😉 And honestly I didn’t want to leave my nice , comfy, warm, bed this morning either. Now it’s supposed to warm up to +8, and I’m grateful for that because my legs have just started to unthaw. So this gives me the opportunity to get my hot tub set up before the winter chill gets worse, and freezes my garden hose. I’ve lived in 3 provinces so far now. In the Interior a beautiful sunny area with 2000 hours + sunshine from May to October. A costal area with 2 months of rain, 14 hours of sunshine in January, snow in the spring, and summer from July to October. In the Eastern area with hot humid subject to change on a whim weather, and lots of construction. I even experienced the tail end of a hurricane that blew down my fence and branches, from an old willow in my backyard. And now I’m Southern or Northern depends on what direction you’re driving. I enjoy blue skies for miles, clouds so fluffy they look like marshmallows, snow in the summer, and a beautiful view of the snow capped Rockies. 😜 I always wanted to be a weather girl from those early days of growing up with 2 TV channels. I was fascinated with weather patterns at a young age, as I watched more news than cartoons. It’s a shame Mother Nature that I’m starting to argue with you as much as that other little vixen SIRI. I was warned before I moved here when I had friends posting pics of snow in May, and in shorts and tanks top the next day!!! Did I listen yes, did I unpack my snow boots no, did I giggle and say to myself glad that not me, yes. So here I am eating crow and being introduced to the queen bitch of them all, Karma. I’m expecting great things from you Mother Nature for October lets take some happy pills, and get down to business. Please let there be no snow for Halloween, copious amounts of sunshine, and if you throw in a Chinook for the next week I’ll call it even. ☀️

Leave a Reply

