Jsack's Mom's Blog

Welcome to my blog where I share my special needs parenting journey with my heart, truth, and love, one story at a time. ❤️

Ten Things of Thankful-Happy Easter

on March 28, 2016

I’m once again getting my post in under the wire for the Lizzi’s and co-hosts of the TTOT. I don’t know why I just don’t write it on Fridays and wait until those last moments to submit my post. I’m the queen of procrastination usually and I wear my crown a little crooked in between being organized on these fleeting moments. 

I love this time of day and I’m thankful when everything is quiet and I can write while the sounds of my slumbering family leave me feeling happy and grateful. 

I’m thankful for a lovely Easter dinner shared with my family and my in laws were visiting us as well. There was lots of love, laughter, presents, and clothes for my growing boys and fun. Which was a welcome addition to their closets. 

  
I’m thankful that my sweet boy will be turning five tomorrow. He’s had a lot of challenges since his birth and to see him happy, growing, and discovering the world fills my heart with love and happiness. 

I’m thankful that we could celebrate an early family birthday party for him. The Dinosaur cave has taken up a special place in his room. The biggest hit of the weekend has been Big Batman almost the size of my son. He reserved a special spot for him in his rocking chair.  

 
I’m thankful for the wonderful meal I prepared, birthday cake, and enjoying a straw-ber-ita on ice. I will admit I indulged and did my workout and cleaned like a speed demon the day before. 

I’m thankful for the Easter egg hunt  my youngest had with his Poppa. It was so cute to see them together with my son running around the yard with his bucket. Every time he collected an egg he would say “the Easter bunny can’t hide from me!”

I’m thankful for a walk in the sunshine and relaxing in my hot tub with my family. It was the perfect way to end the weekend. The Walking Dead was crazy good and I’m eagerly anticipating the season finale and dreading it at the same time. I will reveal no spoilers except to say I screamed a lot! 

I’m thankful for getting my house cleaned, laundry organized, and being able to relax and enjoy myself this long weekend. Usually I’m stressed and trying to jump through hoops and keep everyone happy. This time I felt confident and calm and I kicked my anxiety to the curb. 

I’m thankful for the beauty of my home. I love clean sparkling floors, scrubbed bathrooms, and laundry put away. I feel accomplished and happy as a housewife when I can look back and appreciate my hard work. 

I’m thankful for my lovely family and my kind and generous husband. I found out that my youngest son has developed asthma. So I picked up his medicine and told my husband about it. We came home and I gave my son his medicine and started cleaning, dusting, and organizing clutter. I needed to occupy my mind that was filled with worry and get rid of the allergens as well. My husband came home with a Shark steam mop from Canadian Tire and I’m in love! It’s the little things that mean the most. ❤️

  


26 responses to “Ten Things of Thankful-Happy Easter

  1. Glad to see you had such a lovely time over this Easter holiday, it sounds wonderful !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you had a very enjoyable time over the Easter break.
    Yesterday at an Easter lunch I met a boy who has been diagnosed with SPD. He was an absolute dynamo and did not stop at any point to catch his breath. It was quite wonderful to watch him go about his playtime if a little exhausting.
    I now understand a little more about you and your son and how it affects day to day so admire your challenge and wish you strength and resolve even though from reading your blog, you already have both and are coping with the challenges very admirably making sure your child does not feel any different to any other.
    Kudos to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jsackmom says:

      It was a wonderful Easter my friend! What an eye opening and incredible experience for you. From what you describe of this boy you were fortunate to meet, he sounds very similar to my son. Yes it can be exhausting and amazing to watch Dynamo SPD seeking children. It’s a way for them to get the sensory input that their central nervous system is needing to calm and regulate them. We recently our starting to introduce chewing gum to help my son sit still for circle time at preschool. I tried him at home as well to strengthen his jaw for his hypotonia (weak muscles for chewing) It’s a work in progress and I look forward to the results when he’s able to participate in more activities that require concentration. Thank you for sharing your experience. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. 80smetalman says:

    Happy Easter to you and your family Jeanine and happy birthday to your little guy. Love that Batman, wished they had toys like that when I was five.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jsackmom says:

      Happy Easter to you and yours Mike! 🐰 He’s a cool toy I like to pretend I’m a giant surrounded by little people like Gulliver and travels. I love the new toys just as much as my son. 😉

      Like

  4. Lizzi says:

    Sounds like you’ve had a gorgeous Easter weekend, and OHMIGOSH that Batman is HUGE! Well done you for all the cleaning and getting your workout done.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. christine says:

    What a wonderful Easter/birthday weekend! I’m glad you could relax and enjoy everything.
    There is nothing like the feeling of looking around a squeaky clean house, and it really does lead to some serious relaxation.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jsackmom says:

      Amen Christine I needed some relaxation after a cleaning frenzy since my son’s asthma diagnosis. Alas my squeaky clean house didn’t last with everyone relaxing too. 😉

      Like

  6. New Journey says:

    Love your post and all the wonderful reasons you have to be thankful for…..kat

    Liked by 1 person

  7. herheadache says:

    Happy 5th Birthday to your boy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment