Jsack's Mom's Blog

Welcome to my blog where I share my special needs parenting journey with my heart, truth, and love, one story at a time. ❤️

Childhood revisited 

on December 30, 2015

I look up at the tree to see how far I have to climb till I can’t see the ground or feel the emotions I want to get away from. Why a tree you may ask well it could be anything as long as I could be up high. I climbed trees, fence posts, and the  horse stock corral in our backyard. 

When I was inside I would climb on top of my Mom’s black upright piano. I’d sit up there to eat my lunch and watch my favourite tv show Sesame Street. I wanted to live there and go on a picnic with Big Bird and Snufflelufugus. I found Ernie to loud and Bert to anxious, Oscar was too grouchy and the Count slept most of the time. Cookie Monster and Grover were my best friends we could sit around eating cookies all day and sing songs about it. 

I had this stuffed animal of Grover he was blue, soft, and fuzzy. He had long arms and legs I would wrap around my neck and waist and he would go everywhere with me. I adored that pal of mine and everyone would see us together and smile. I wasn’t allowed to take him to school though because my Mom said there was only one Grover and everyone would want one. 

I don’t remember if he was a birthday gift or for Christmas all I remember was he appeared in my life one day and made it all the better. I could talk to Grover about anything fights I had with my siblings, mud pie recipes, and how I could see things that other people couldn’t see. He never judged me and always kept my secrets just like my dog Bo. He was a special dog a gift from my Dad when I was brought home from the hospital. 

He became another member of our family even after my parents separated Bo came to live with us. We lived a simple life in the village with our Mom and my sister. He would walk us to and from school everyday. I would race home with my backpack hanging off my shoulder with the weight of my library books. I would run in the house kiss my Mom, tell her quickly about my day, grab my snack and Grover and disappear into the woods behind our house. 

I would find my special place and sit down and read to my friends. I loved to use different characters voices and inflection in my tone to make the story exciting. This was the way my Mom taught me the magic of story telling and it helped my comprehension and confidence. It helped me escape into a world of adventure in my books when the world was too loud, bright, and confusing. I loved sailing the seven seas with Sinbad, sitting down for tea with Charles Dickens in a Tale of Two Cities and living in the beautiful fantasy world of a Midnight Summer’s Dream from Shakespeare. 

My childhood was a happy place when I was able to climb trees, drink tea with my Mom and her friends, and use my imagination. I would dream about living on Sesame Street reading to everyone on the block and visiting Bob and Maria at Mr.Hooper’s store. There’s still times when I like to take a detour from my stress and go back to my childhood where life was simpler, carefree, and fun. 

🎶 Can you tell me how to get 

How to get to Sesame Street? 🎶

This has been my take on the Daily Prompt Childhood Revisited. 


19 responses to “Childhood revisited 

  1. koolaidmoms says:

    Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bobcabkings says:

    Thanks for a delightful read full of the freedom of childhood imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 80smetalman says:

    I have to concur with Bob here, great read!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. New Journey says:

    We were Bert and Ernie friends….I remember I had to go to San Francisco down on pier 39 at a store for Sesame Street to find these 2 close friends of my son….LOL and my daughter and big bird were inseparable….I loved Sesame street and sometimes find myself watching it and go back to the times of when my kids were sitting in front of the tv singing and enjoying time with their tv friends…..sounds like you had a wonderful childhood….I grew up with Captain Kangaroo and Mickey Mouse Club…..Happy New Year….kat

    Liked by 1 person

    • jsackmom says:

      My Mom introduced me to the classics which made my childhood days wonderful. I remember a little bit of Captain Kangaroo but Sesame St and my other favourites were Mr. Dress up and the Friendly Giant. There were Canadian icons in my life and fondly remembered. Happy new year Kat. 😃🌟🎉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Deborah the Closet Monster says:

    I shared your fondness for Grover, though most the rest of his buddies didn’t work for me. (There was even a time I thought I might marry him when I grew up! Aaah, childhood.)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. herheadache says:

    What a sweet story.
    It’s strange watching this show with my nephew now, but it was one of my favourites too.
    🙂
    Grover was my favourite also. Near…far…near…far…near…far!!!
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Denise G. says:

    Grover was always my favorite! Now my girls love him too! Thanks for joining us at the #Throwback Thursday Link Up!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love reading your stuff 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment